Class of 2017 Celebrates Baccalaureate Mass

The Basilica of the Assumption of Mary, America’s first cathedral, was the setting for the Baccalaureate Mass of the Class of 2017 on Wednesday, May 24th.  Archbishop Michael J. Curley is buried in the crypt under the sanctuary. As part of Curley tradition, the seniors walk past the tomb of the namesake of the school on their way in to Mass.

Fr. Donald Grzymski, OFM Conv. ’70, President of Curley, was the principal celebrant and homilist for the Mass, with Fr. Matt Foley OFM Conv. and Fr. Nick Rokitka OFM Conv. concelebrating.  The Curley Luminare Choir, directed by Mr. Michael Gaffney, led the singing.  Members of the Class of 2017 proclaimed the readings and intercessions.

After Communion, Mr. Brian Kohler, Principal, and Mr. Zachary Dziedzic and Mr. John Bowden, Assistant Principals, presented awards to the following students:

Fr. Julian- Athlete of the Year- Vincent M. Shaffer Jr.

Perfect Attendance (4 years) - James K. Diggs, James F. Duffy, Ryan P. Fisher, Nathan D. Jecelin, Matthew J. Kowalewski, Jordan Stallworth

State of Maryland Merit Scholarship Awards - Delondrae Carter, Matthew C. Scheffel, Michael Waugh, Brett Sutton, Thomas Holcomb III, Daniel Nakasone, Robert Linz

John Hartman Music Award - Tyler J. Sosnowski

St. Gregory Choral Award  - Matthew A. Bechtel

Michelangelo Buonarroti Art Award  - Anthony V. Fares Jr.

Albert J. Strubinger Business Award - Spiro H. Vasilakopoulos

E. Patrick Moloney History) Award - Jonathan R. Suehle

Stanley J. Giermek Mathematics Award  - Thomas J. Holcomb III

Excellence in Modern Foreign Languages - Matthew C. Scheffel

C. Markland Kelly Physical Education Award  - James K. Diggs

Daniel Biser Memorial Science Award - James F. Duffy

Ganster English Award - Jason A. Schap

St. Maximilian Kolbe Award for Excellence in Religious Studies -  Matthew C. Scheffel

Franciscan Scholars Academic Award (Gold Cords) - Matthew Bechtel, Delondrae Carter, James Duffy, Ryan Fisher, Christopher Haslbeck, Thomas Holcomb III, Nicholas Holland, Dylan Holy, Alexander Le, Robert Linz, Joseph Massa, Wesley Meadowcroft, Daniel Nakasone, Tanner Pearn, Stephen Porembski, William Pritchett, Quincy Richburg, Matthew Scheffel, Brett Sutton, Michael Waugh

Archbishop Keough  Award  (3rd highest QPA Senior year) - Ryan P. Fisher

Lawrence Cardinal Shehan  Award  (2nd highest QPA Senior year) - Jason A. Schap

Archbishop Curley  Award  (Highest QPA Senior year) - Delondrae D. Carter

There's no better way to get to know Archbishop Curley High School than in person.

Plan A Visit

Ask us a question, tell us your thoughts, or just say, "Hello." We'd love to hear from you.

Email Us

RSVP or purchase tickets for Archbishop Curley High School events and activities.

Learn More
@ 2014 Archbishop Curley High School | All Rights Reserved | Archbishop Curley High School 3701 Sinclair Lane | Baltimore, MD 21213 | 410-485-5000